Here’s how to ensure your personal Facebook page has the proper settings:
- Who can see my stuff? Friends
- Who can look you up using the email address you provided? Friends or Friends of Friends
- Who can look you up using the phone number you provided? Friends or Friends of Friends
- Do you want other search engines to link to your timeline? Off
Timeline and Tagging Settings
- Who can post on your timeline? Friends
- Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline? On
- Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your timeline? Friends
- Who can see what others post on your timeline? Friends
- Review tags people add to your own posts before the tags appear on Facebook? Enable
- When you’re tagged in a post, who do you want to add to the audience if they aren’t already in it? Only Me or Friends
- Who sees tag suggestions when photos that look like you are uploaded? Friends
Review Your Profile
- Go to your Facebook timeline.
- Click the “View As” link, located under the settings icons in the lower right corner of your cover photo.
- You’re now viewing your profile as the public would see it. If photos or posts that you do not want people to see (other than friends) are visible, then you should go directly to those posts or photos to change the privacy setting.
- Keep in mind that all cover photos are visible. Therefore, if you see a cover photo that you do not want people to see, then you must delete it.
- For all other photos and albums, you can do directly to the album or photo to change the privacy settings.
A final note: assume that everything you post on your personal Facebook page is public, even if you’ve applied the settings outlined above. A Facebook “friend” can easily take images and other content from your page to show others.